• Location
  • Call
  • Favorites
  • Cart

Porchestra Concert at the Cozad-Bates House

11508 Mayfield Rd. Cleveland, OH 44106

Sunday, October 10, 2021 3:00PM —
Sunday, October 10, 2021 4:30PM

Porchestra Concert at the Cozad-Bates House

Join Us!

Sunday, October 10, 2021
3:00PM - 4:30PM

Map to Event

Join us at the historic porch of the Cozad-Bates House in University Circle for a MusiCLE Yours Porchestra Concert featuring members of The Cleveland Orchestra and friends, plus special speaker Joan Southgate, Founder of Restore Cleveland Hope, whose inspiring five-hundred-mile walk through Ohio raised awareness to save this historic building.

The program features nearly 200 years of American compositions, mostly from Ohio. The oldest work was written by the once-famous guitar virtuoso and Cleveland abolitionist Justin Holland. Exceptional works by four living composers, two of them Clevelanders, demonstrate that Classical music has both a rich history and an exciting future in our city.


Attendees are encouraged to bring their own chairs and blankets, though tents are not permitted. Masks will be available at no cost to those attending the event (although they are not mandated on the front lawn as an open park) and there will be sanitizer stations available. Attendees are also welcome to bring their own food or drink, though alcohol is not permitted.

The interior exhibits of the Cozad-Bates House Interpretive Center will be open at 2 p.m., and remain open until 5:30 p.m. following the concert.


This event is presented by University Circle Inc., Restore Cleveland Hope, MusiCLE Yours and Friends with the hope of creating more awareness of new Cozad-Bates House Interpretive Center and to highlight the rich contributions of past and present African American composers. MusiCLE Yours is a project of the musicians of The Cleveland Orchestra, created out of a desire to connect with each other and the community.

Works from the following composers will be featured in the program:

H. Leslie Adams*
Justin Holland
Allison Loggins-Hull*
Brian R. Nabors*
Coleridge Taylor Perkinson
William Grant Still
George Walker
Dolores White*.

*living composers

The following performers will be featured in the program:

Cleveland Orchestra members
Frank Rosenwein, Principal oboe
Joshua Smith, Principal flute
Kathy Collins, violin
Elayna Duitman, violin
Emma Shook, violin
Isabel Trautwein, violin
Eliesha Nelson, viola
Sonja Braaten, viola
Charkles Bernard, cello
Carolyn Warner, keyboard


Dianna White-Gould, keyboard
Brenda Pongracz, soprano
Damian Goggans, guitar.


Signup Be the first to know about special events, openings, news and more!